N Street Village Gala Celebrates 45 Years of Serving Women Experiencing Homelessness in D.C.

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Paula Buggage never expected to be homeless. She’d spent 16 years in corporate America, only returning to her childhood home in D.C. with her husband and two sons after getting the call her father was sick. But in a matter of months, her husband and father passed away suddenly and she lost everything. As a new widow without a job, money, or place to stay, Paula and her two sons moved into their car until she found friends who could take care of her sons. Paula was alone and homeless for the first time in her life.  She arrived at the doors of N Street Village with her entire life belongings in a single bag.

Paula Buggage accepts the Steinbruck Award at the N Street Village 45th Anniversary Gala.

Paula is just one of the many who find themselves at N Street Village, the largest provider for housing and services for homeless women in Washington, D.C. Today, N Street Village welcomes nearly 2,000 of the city’s most vulnerable women every year, and provides safe and supportive housing to more than 700 women and 51 families in five locations throughout the city.

On March 14, 2018, Paula, along with residents Karen Bell and Rita Lewis, were honored as just three of the countless women N Street Village has empowered during the organizations’ 45 years.

2018 Steinbruck Awardees on stage with N Street Village CEO Schroeder Stribling and Ledisi.

“Your support tonight is the last echo of a 45 year promise which remains vital and life-saving in our city,” said N Street Village CEO Schroeder Stribling. “We need each other. We all have something to give each other – material or not. There are many different currencies, but the math always checks out in compassion.”

Alongside a crowd of nearly 900, the night also recognized longtime Village supporters, Stu and Pat Van Scoyoc, who were proud to announce their investment to open The MARJ and MAK Vocational Center, named in honor of their mothers. The award was presented by Village alumna who had a long career and recently retired from Van Scoyoc Associates.

Pat and Stu Van Scoyoc accept the 2018 Founder’s Award with CEO Schroeder Stribling and N Street Village Alumna and Van Scoyoc Associates Retiree, Olivia Ramsey.

“Our commitment to the MARJ and MAK Center started with a dream for a center for women to learn the skills to re-enter the workforce. The dream of the MARJ and MAK Center is realized. Pat and I are excited about the 300 more women who will gain skills there,” said Stu Van Scoyoc.

Special musical guest and twelve-time Grammy-nominated artist Ledisi performed “Pieces of Me” with the N Street Village and Luther Place Ambassadors of Praise to sing in unison the message that would carry through the evening: “I am a woman. Yes, I am a woman, these are the pieces of me!”

Twelve-time Grammy-nominated artist Ledisi performs with the N Street Village and Luther Place Ambassadors of Praise.

Overall, the evening raised a total of nearly $1.4 million, which will be used to ensure that the doors of N Street Village, which have been open 365 days a year for the past 45 years, remain open to any women in need. No matter what brings a woman to its doorstep—whether it be homelessness, mental illness, addiction, violence and abuse, health problems, unemployment, or some combination thereof—the Village will meet her right where she is and welcome her into a community of hospitality, healing, and hope.

3. N Street Village Chief Development Officer Stuart Allen, Honorary Gala Co-Chairs Congressman Joseph and Kasey Crowley, Honorary Gala Committee Member Congressman Bill Shuster, Congressman Rodney Davis, Honorary Gala Co-Chairs Congressman Jeff and Sonia Denham.

Also in attendance were:

  • N Street Village Board of Directors Chair, Peter Shields
  • Marriott CEO, Arne Sorenson, and N Street Village Board of Directors Vice-Chair, Ruth Sorenson
  • 45th Anniversary Gala Co-Chairs Hillary and Tom Baltimore, Erika and A. Scott Bolden, and Dafna Tapiero and Alan Fleischmann
  • 45th Anniversary Gala Honorary Co-Chairs Congressman Joseph and Mrs. Kasey Crowley and Congressman Jeff and Mrs. Sonia Denham
  • And other Congressional members and D.C. government officials